Davis Tull
Top FCS candidates for NFL Draft
NFL teams don't overlook what the small school players can offer them, An average of 18-19 players from the FCS level have been selected in each NFL Draft over the last decade. Samford strong safety... Full Story
John Gibbs Jr.
Maybe it's time to split up
Craig Haley - FCS Executive Director
The overall growth of super conferences across the FCS has gone largely unnoticed in the last decade.

What isn't hard to overlook, however, is when your favorite team is looking up in the standings and there's, say, nine, 10, 11 teams above it. Full Story
Parker McKenzie
Teams off the radar
Unless you're the Kentucky men or the UConn women, you don't have to win your final game in the NCAA basketball tournament for the season to be considered successful.

So much emphasis is put on the postseason that we've come to forget what a good season... Full Story
Johnathan Williams
SWAC spring football primer
Arkansas-Pine Bluff's Monte Coleman isn't just the dean of Southwestern Athletic Conference head football coaches, he's the dinosaur.

Change apparently is good in the SWAC. Among its 10 member schools, UAPB, with Coleman headed toward his seventh season, is the only school not... Full Story
Victor Ochi
CAA spring football primer
Five CAA Football teams had Top 25 rankings last season and then didn't even finish with a winning record in conference play.

The grinding nature of the CAA schedule never changes. The 12-team conference's depth makes spring practices an important time for teams... Full Story
Malcolm Bell
MEAC spring football primer
The lack of a win in the FCS playoffs since 1999 and a big annual payday have the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference considering significant change to its postseason plans.

The MEAC could relinquish its automatic bid to the playoffs to have its champion face the... Full Story
Andrew Fischer
Ivy League spring football primer
It's probably expected to seem like the Ivy League will be turned upside down on Oct. 17, when Penn visits Columbia.

Coach Al Bagnoli, who guided Penn to nine Ivy championships and the second-highest win total in league history over the last 23 seasons... Full Story
Chris King
NEC spring football primer
A missed field goal here, a turnover there, there isn't a lot of difference between the top teams in the Northeast Conference.

One great example was Bryant last year. The Bulldogs perhaps arrived a year early to the NEC title race, but there they sat at 4-0 entering the final... Full Story
Jordan West
Big Sky spring football primer
If the Big Sky Conference football title race without Vernon Adams Jr. feels different to you, imagine how it feels to players at, say, contenders Montana, Montana State or Cal Poly.

Or imagine how it feels to Eastern Washington coach Beau Baldwin, whose three-time defending... Full Story
John Zakrewski
Patriot League spring
football primer
After Fordham brought national prominence to Patriot League football the last two seasons, this year's title race has the promise of being even better.

Lafayette actually advanced to the FCS playoffs with a losing record in 2013 when Fordham... Full Story
Troy Mitchell
Southern Conference spring football primer
The Southern Conference has been through a season without former powers Appalachian State and Georgia Southern and is working to repair its stature in FCS circles.

SoCon teams other than Chattanooga barely... Full Story
Jalen Whitlow
OVC spring football primer
The highs and lows of Ohio Valley Conference football have been magnified through overachieving and underachieving ways during the last two FCS postseasons.

Two years ago, the OVC ended a playoff drought that dated to 2000, and it did so in spectacular... Full Story
(L-R) Ulysses Bryant and Jonah Hodges
Pioneer Football League
spring primer
Jacksonville University stopped itself last season.

Nobody else may stop the Dolphins in the Pioneer Football League this year. Jacksonville comes back as a motivated team after self-imposing ineligibility for the PFL title last November because of... Full Story
Ed Eagan
Southland spring football primer
This time last year, not only did it seem strange to see former Delaware football coach K.C. Keeler in Sam Houston blue, white and orange, but there was little telling what his lineup would look like in the 2014 season.

With graduation and injuries as well... Full Story
Josh Woodrum
Big South spring football primer
Every Big South Conference team began November with at least a .500 record last season - an amazing fact - and before the month was over, its co-champions, Coastal Carolina and Liberty, had spots in the FCS playoffs.

The big season only built on the... Full Story


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
©2015 The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com