College Baseball
<    October    
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31

Virginia rewarded with top seed for NCAA baseball tourney

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Virginia has been selected as the top overall seed for the 2011 NCAA Division I baseball championship.

The 64-team tournament starts next weekend with 16 regionals featuring four teams apiece in a double-elimination format at campus sites. Those 16 survivors are then paired off for eight best-of-three super regionals between June 10-13 before the last eight teams earn trips to the College World Series, which starts June 18 in Omaha, Nebraska.

Virginia is joined by Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida State, Vanderbilt, Texas and Rice as the top eight seeds. South Carolina won its first College World Series championship last year, beating UCLA in the title series.

The ACC and SEC will each send seven teams to the tournament, while the Big 12 and Pac-10 each have six representatives.

Miami-Florida again earned a berth, extending an NCAA record with its 39th straight appearance. Florida State is in the field for a 34th consecutive year.

While 36 teams were also part of the 2010 tournament, three teams -- Belmont, Alcorn State and Arkansas-Little Rock -- earned bids for the first time.

05/30 14:35:59 ET